THE ALASKA LEGISLATURE



* HONORING *

* CARL PORTMAN *

It is with great pride that the Twenty-seventh Alaska State Legislature recognizes Carl Portman for his dedication to the state of Alaska by working hard to responsibly develop the state's natural resources as a 30-year employee of the Resource Development Council for Alaska (RDC), a statewide business association comprised of individuals and companies from Alaska's oil and gas, mining, forest products, tourism, and fisheries industries.

Carl began work at RDC in 1981 after graduating from the University of Alaska Fairbanks and having helped build the Trans-Alaska Pipeline. Over the ensuing 30 years, Carl has worked tirelessly to help grow the state's economy. Carl has testified countless times before the Legislature and other state and federal agencies; authored and edited the Resource Review newsletter, which is sent regularly to thousands of Alaskans, including every legislator and member of Congress; as well as educated and encouraged fellow Alaskans to support responsible development. Throughout his time at RDC, he actively participated in a national speakers bureau which emphasized the benefits of opening the Coastal Plain of ANWR to responsible oil and gas development, and continues to this day to be one of the largest proponents of opening ANWR. Through his work, he clearly has exemplified RDC's purpose of encouraging a strong, diversified private sector in Alaska while expanding the state's economic base through the responsible development of our natural resources.

Given that Alaska's economy and future are directly tied to Alaska's abundant resources, Carl's efforts have benefitted not only his organization, but all Alaskans.

The members of the Twenty-seventh Alaska State Legislature honor Carl for his service to the private and public sectors in Alaska and wish him success in his continued efforts to responsibly develop Alaska's natural resources.



MIKE CHENAULT SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE

REP. CHARISSE MILLETT PRIME SPONSOR PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SEN. LESIL MCGUIRE PRIME SPONSOR

Date: April 8, 2011

Cosponsors: Representatives Chenault, Cissna, Costello, Dick, Doogan, Edgmon, Fairclough, Feige, Foster, Gara, Gardner, Gatto, Gruenberg, Guttenberg, Hawker, Herron, Holmes, Johansen, Johnson, Joule, Kawasaki, Keller, Kerttula, Lynn, Miller, Muñoz, Neuman, Olson, Petersen, Pruitt, Saddler, Seaton, Stoltze, Thomas, Thompson, Tuck, P. Wilson, T. Wilson; Senators Stevens, Coghill, Davis, Dyson, Egan, Ellis, Giessel, Hoffman, Huggins, Kookesh, Menard, Meyer, Olson, Paskvan, Stedman, Thomas, Wagoner, Wielechowski